Home » Autofill Project » AUTOFILL PROJECT: Adele Nazeem

AUTOFILL PROJECT: Adele Nazeem

TLAAP_tile_martini

Default: 341578
Default with Spaces: 122824

NOTES: Congratulations to new EGOT member Robert Lopez (65) who won the Best Original Song Oscar, with his spouse Kristen Anderson-Lopez, for “Let It Go” from Frozen. A few days after the Oscars I reluctantly added Adele Nazeem (50), which is the popularly approved spelling of John Travolta’s introduction gaffe of “Let It Go” singer Idina Menzel. The first episode of the Fox TV reboot of Cosmos was good, not great, but I jotted down Virgo Supercluster (80) and ship of the imagination (75). An AV Club recap of a recent Walking Dead episode referred to the classic drinking game as Never Have I Ever (75). I remember the game as I Never (70) — anyone else have a different name for this game? Neologisms added to the Notepad this week include mactor (70) (portmanteau of model and actor) that I picked up from Rob Cesternino’s Survivor podcast and the 21st-century tech malady text neck (80).

LISTS: I finished a segment of Mark Diehl’s 10-letter entries that contain the letter X. Some nice additions include paint mixer (75), popcorn box (80), tuxedo sofa (80), and X-Treme X-Men (75). This afternoon I worked a bit on a revision list containing some 39-score entries that are candidates for promotion into fill range. One slightly rescored entry, from the “There’s a Word for That?” Department, is hosel (40), the cavity in a gold club head that the shaft fits into.

2 thoughts on “AUTOFILL PROJECT: Adele Nazeem

  1. How much do you worry about the longevity of the entries in your puzzles? (This isn’t a critique, but an honest inquiry.) Because of the high rankings you tend to give somewhat unfamiliar and potentially fly-by-night neologisms, a lot of your puzzles have interesting new phrases I haven’t heard of, but they might also make those puzzles tough to reprint later if the phrases don’t stick around.

    • I don’t worry much about the high fill scores. When neologisms gravitate to the top of fill lists they become easier to spot and downscore/mark for deletion if necessary. Adjusting entry scores in the middle of a construction project is fairly simple in CCWIN. In any case, I have never felt forced into using a neologism based on its high fill score; the neologisms that appear in my puzzles are there by choice. I do take your point that many of my puzzles lack reprint value due to ephemeral slang in the fill. While I like the idea of having my Unthemely puzzles published someday, I’m less motivated by commercial viability than constructing puzzles that interest me.

Leave a Reply

