Home » Puzzles » PUZZLE: Rice Milk #15

PUZZLE: Rice Milk #15

TLAAP_tile_martini

BEGIN (4 3 2) / END (5 4)

Though we pledged to avoid getting fatter
And confess if we ate sweets of batter,
I BEGIN you last week:
A small END did I sneak.
Though ’twas just, one could say, absent matter.

The solution includes a variant spelling.

Comments contain the answer to Rice Milk #14 and may contain other spoilers. For information on solving transposals and other “flat” (verse puzzle) types, visit the National Puzzlers’ League’s Online Guide to the Enigma.

4 thoughts on “PUZZLE: Rice Milk #15

  1. Rice Milk #14 answer: origin myths / hominy grits. As I alluded to in a previous post, a Google search including “Southern cooking” and “lye” will yield plenty of references to hominy grits in the early results pages. I suspect that many readers who solved the puzzle entered in that manner.

  2. URYQ BHG BA / QBAHG UBYR. At first I thought END was going to be some ERTVBANYVFZ for CNAPNXRF, but couldn’t find anything fitting the enumeration.

    In #14, I got HOMINY GRITS first, and the pool of available letters made me initially suspect that the first part had to contain -ING. Fortunately, I didn’t spend too long exploring this possibility.

    • Your #15 solution is correct. The HOMINY GRITS transposal is interesting in that it is non-intuitive. I can see how the -ING approach would be attractive and I’m glad you were not taken down the garden path.

Leave a Reply

